00:00 / 00:00

Volunteering and Civil Protection

Without volunteers, our society would not be what it is. Volunteers everywhere do valuable work for the good of their fellow people. We need this voluntary commitment now and in future – not least because of numerous
structural changes in our society. The contributions volunteers in Germany make to civil protection and disaster assistance are one of the most important and most stable supporting pillars in the architecture of civil protection.

Stories about Volunteering

First aid for the soul, cold-weather support, volunteer fire services and volunteering abroad: four volunteers from throughout Germany describe their own very personal paths to civil protection.

A Wide Variety of Volunteering Options

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

providing support  

Crisis Intervention

First aid for the soul – those providing emergency pastoral care are there for casualties, family members and emergency personnel alike. No matter whether there is an accident, a domestic fire or flooding, volunteers who work in emergency pastoral care and crisis intervention support other people in difficult situations in life.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

interpreting

Integration/Interpreting

Language is the key to the world – this is particularly evident for refugees and recent immigrants. Everyday life in our society often presents them with major challenges. That is why help with integration requires empathetic volunteers who act as interpreters and translators.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

diving

Water Rescue

Strong swimmers in very good shape and with technical expertise are the sort of people needed in the event of flooding. They evacuate and rescue people and animals from flooded areas. Diving, lifesaving and boating capabilities are the three essential pillars of water rescue.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

transporting

Logistics

Everything flows – including goods and materials for exercises, missions and day-to-day duties. Logistics professionals and people with a natural talent for organisation and transportation fear neither long distances nor complex processes – and make sure that food, spare parts and electricity reach their destinations safely.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

putting out fires  

Disaster Control

112 – every child in Germany is familiar with this phone number. But not everybody knows that around 95 percent of the firefighters in Germany belong to volunteer organisations. However, volunteers do far more than put out fires. They also turn out reliably in the event of severe storms, floods and traffic accidents.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

lending a hand

Rescue/Recovery

From level-headed to furry helpers – people, animals and technology all work together to recover and rescue injured people and animals from danger zones. Volunteers keep their cool as they extricate people from emergency situations in the field, from under debris and from the water.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

providing care

Medical Service/Care

Medical competence coupled with diplomatic skills – this characterises the ideal volunteer. Whether during sports events, concerts, street festivals or in emergencies: caring for and treating injured or uninjured people affected by the incident are essential in turbulent situations.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

planning

Technical Assistance

People who are not afraid of heavy equipment operate power generators, machinery and hydraulic equipment in the event of fire, water or storm damage. Planning, securing, lifting, moving: technical assistance relies as much on machinery as on skilful volunteers with technical knowledge.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

teaching

Training

Asking questions is how we learn more – this is also true of civil protection. Thanks to comprehensive training provided by experienced educational problem-solvers, volunteers find out the answers to all their questions. Teaching and explaining are the basis for a broad spectrum of qualifications among volunteers.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

listening  

Communication

Effective communicators with digital and analogue skills – civil protection also requires deskwork. From administrative to marketing tasks: volunteers provide the right information at the right time via various communications channels.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

catering

Catering

Helping makes you hungry – which is why we need cooking experts who know how to satisfy empty stomachs. While field kitchens and pea stew are traditional solutions, they make up only a small part of the large variety of options offered by catering personnel. These volunteers are on site after missions and exercises to cater for emergency personnel.

Take part

I CAN CONTRIBUTE BY

repairing

Maintenance

Equipment, technical aids and vehicles aren’t everything – but we can’t get much done without them. Everything has to work when it needs to and be in perfect shape at any given time. Repairing, servicing and maintaining equipment are therefore highly sought-after capabilities in civil protection.

Take part

Organisations

Private relief organisations and public bodies cooperate closely on civil protection matters. They provide aid quickly when it counts: in the event of fires, disasters and emergencies. It is only this very close and effective cooperation that ensures optimal protection of the population in Germany. Volunteer work by people with a wide variety of capabilities and knowledge in the relevant organisations is therefore one of the cornerstones of Germany’s security architecture. Volunteers keep both public bodies (the association of
volunteer working groups from the disaster assistance management units and facilities in Germany (ARKAT), fire services and the Federal Agency for Technical Relief (THW)) and private relief organisations (the Workers’ Samaritan Federation (ASB), the German Life Saving Association (DLRG), the German Red Cross (DRK), the Order of St. John accident assistance organisation (JUH) and the Order of Malta relief service (MHD)) running. In other words, without active civic involvement, civil protection would be unthinkable in Germany.

https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/DRK-Logo_rund_RGB-ohmogciz82aoe51xo16t08w9hj9gszwxfgn8okwj8w.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/LogoDFVmit-SchriftCMYK2-01-min.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/2000px-DLRG_Logo.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Arbeiter-Samariter-Bund_Deutschland_logo.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/THW.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/2000px-Johanniter-Unfall-Hilfe_logo.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/2000px-Malteser_Logo.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/DRK-Logo_rund_RGB-ohmogciz82aoe51xo16t08w9hj9gszwxfgn8okwj8w-1.png

Do Your Part

Which volunteer role suits me? Find out by answering 18 questions on your individual strengths and preferences. Whether you are interested in dogs or want to become a drone pilot, you can find out here which aid organisation for civil protection best suits your interests.





Nature conservation, health, or rescue and disaster control? Below, you can find an overview of the areas in which you might like to volunteer. Choose from 22 different subjects all over Germany and find out how varied volunteering options in Germany are.



Visit us to learn more about the Federal Office of Civil Protection and Disaster Assistance:

Tag des Ehrenamtes, 05. Dezember 2021

Zeig uns, was du kannst! Egal was du kannst, du kannst helfen.

00:00 / 00:00
Zeig uns, was dein Ehrenamt ausmacht, wie deine ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit aussieht und wer du und dein Team seid! Egal ob du in der Küche, im Schwimmbad, im Seminarraum oder der Garage hilfst – wir wollen dich und dein Ehrenamt kennenlernen und zeigen: Egal was du kannst, du kannst helfen!
Hier kannst du das Foto- und Videomaterial bis zum 08. November 2021 hochladen. Unter allen Teilnehmenden verlosen wir eine professionelle Videoproduktion bei dir vor Ort, um dich, dein Team und dein Ehrenamt vorzustellen. Gemeinsam erzählen wir die vielen unterschiedlichen Geschichten aus dem Ehrenamt im Bevölkerungsschutz und der Katastrophenhilfe!
Mitmachen
00:00 / 00:00

Das Ehrenamt im Bevölkerungsschutz

Ohne das Ehrenamt wäre unsere Gesellschaft eine andere. Überall leisten ehrenamtlich Tätige wertvolle Arbeit zum Wohle ihrer Mitmenschen. Dieses freiwillige Engagement brauchen wir jetzt und in Zukunft – nicht zuletzt aufgrund zahlreicher
gesellschaftsstruktureller Veränderungen. Der in Deutschland ehrenamtlich getragene Zivil- und Katastrophenschutz stellt dabei einen der wichtigsten und stabilsten Tragpfeiler in der Architektur des Bevölkerungsschutzes dar.

Einblicke ins Ehrenamt

Erste Hilfe für die Seele, Kältehilfe, Freiwillige Feuerwehr und Auslandsdienst: Acht Ehrenamtliche aus ganz Deutschland erzählen von ihrem ganz persönlichen Weg in den Bevölkerungsschutz.

Vielfalt im Ehrenamt

Ich kann für uns

Halt geben  

Krisenintervention

Da sein, wenn es darauf ankommt – bei Unglücken, Katastrophen und unvorhergesehenen Krisensituationen. Ob Einsatzkräfte, Angehörige, Zeuginnen und Zeugen oder Opfer: Sie alle können sich darauf verlassen, dass ihnen jemand zur Seite steht. Ehrenamtliche in der Krisenintervention helfen während oder nach belastenden Ereignissen dabei, das Erlebte zu verarbeiten.

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

dolmetschen

Integrationshilfe/Dolmetschen

Sprache ist der Schlüssel zur Welt – das erfahren insbesondere Geflüchtete oder vor kurzem Emigrierte. Für sie ist der gesellschaftliche Alltag oftmals eine große Herausforderung. Deshalb ist die Integrationshilfe auf empathische Helferinnen und Helfer angewiesen, die dolmetschen und übersetzen.

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

tauchen

Wasserrettung

Wahre Wasserratten mit guter Kondition und technischem Know-how – diese Menschen sind bei Hochwasser und Überflutungen gefragt. Sie evakuieren und retten Menschen und Tiere aus überschwemmten Gebieten. Tauchen, Rettungsschwimmen oder Bootswesen sind die entscheidenden drei Säulen der Wasserrettung.  

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

transportieren

Logistik

Alles ist im Fluss – auch Güter und Material für Übungen, Einsätze und den täglichen Dienst. Logistikprofis und Naturtalente im Organisieren und Transportieren fürchten weder große Distanzen noch komplexe Abläufe – und sorgen dafür, dass Lebensmittel, Ersatzteile oder Strom sicher an ihr Ziel gelangen.

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

Feuer löschen  

Katastrophenschutz

112 ­– die Nummer kennt in Deutschland jedes Kind. Was nicht jeder weiß: Rund 95 Prozent der Feuerwehrleute hierzulande sind ehrenamtlich organisiert. Dabei ist Feuer löschen längst nicht die einzige Aufgabe der Ehrenamtlichen. Auch bei Stürmen, Hochwasser und Verkehrsunfällen rücken sie zuverlässig aus. 

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

anpacken

Bergen/Retten

Von kühler Kopf bis kalte Schnauze – Mensch, Tier und Technik packen gemeinsam an, um verletzte Menschen und Tiere aus Gefahrenzonen zu bergen und zu retten. Besonnene Helferinnen und Helfer befreien aus Notsituationen im Gelände, unter Trümmern oder zu Wasser. 

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

betreuen

Sanitätsdienst/Betreuung

Medizinische Kompetenz gepaart mit diplomatischem Geschick – das macht den idealen Helfer bzw. die ideale Helferin aus. Ob bei Sportveranstaltungen, Konzerten, Straßenfesten oder im Katastrophenfall: Das Betreuen und Behandeln von Verletzten oder unverletzten Betroffenen ist das A und O in unübersichtlichen Situationen.    

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

planen

Technische Hilfe

Keine Scheu vor großem Gerät – das zeichnet Menschen aus, die bei Feuer, Wasser- oder Sturmschäden Stromaggregate, Maschinen und hydraulische Geräte bedienen. Planen, sichern, heben, bewegen: die Technische Hilfe ist auf Maschinen genauso angewiesen wie auf geschickte Helfer mit technischem Wissen.     

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

unterrichten

Ausbildung

Wer nicht fragt bleibt dumm – natürlich auch in puncto Bevölkerungsschutz. Dank umfassender Ausbildung durch erfahrene didaktische Problemlöser bekommen die Ehrenamtlichen Antworten auf all ihre Fragen. Unterrichten und erklären: die Basis für eine breit gefächerte Qualifizierung von Freiwilligen.        

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

zuhören  

Seelsorge

Erste Hilfe für die Seele – Notfallseelsorgerinnen und Notfallseelsorger sind für Verletzte, Angehörige und Rettungskräfte gleichermaßen da. Ob Unfall oder Wohnungsbrand: Die Ehrenamtlichen in der Notfallseelsorge geben anderen Menschen Halt in schwierigen Lebenssituationen.

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

versorgen

Versorgung

Hilfe leisten macht hungrig – deshalb braucht es Kochbegabte, die diesen Hunger gekonnt stillen. Gulaschkanone und Erbseneintopf sind zwar Klassiker, aber nur ein Teil des großen Repertoires der Verpflegungseinheiten. Diese sind nach Einsätzen und Übungen vor Ort, um die Einsatzkräfte zu versorgen.   

Mitmachen

Ich kann für uns

reparieren

Instandhaltung

Geräte, technische Hilfsmittel und Fahrzeuge sind nicht alles – aber ohne sie ist alles nichts. Sie müssen funktionieren, wenn es darauf ankommt und jederzeit bestens in Schuss sein. Das Reparieren, Warten oder Instand halten der Ausrüstung sind deshalb gefragte Tätigkeiten im Bevölkerungsschutz.   

Mitmachen

Wo können Sie sich engagieren?

Im Bevölkerungsschutz arbeiten private Hilfsorganisationen und öffentlich-rechtliche Einrichtungen eng zusammen. Sie leisten schnelle Hilfe, wenn es drauf ankommt: bei Bränden, Unglücken sowie in Katastrophenfällen. Erst diese bestens verzahnte Zusammenarbeit garantiert den optimalen Schutz der Bevölkerung in Deutschland. Die freiwillige Mitarbeit von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern mit unterschiedlichsten Fähigkeiten und Kenntnissen
in den Organisationen ist dabei ein tragender Baustein der deutschen Sicherheitsarchitektur. Die ehrenamtlichen Helferinnen und Helfer sichern die Einsatzfähigkeit der öffentlich-rechtlichen Einrichtungen (ARKAT, Feuerwehr und THW) sowie die der privaten Hilfsorganisationen (ASB, DLRG, DRK, JUH, MHD). In anderen Worten: Ohne aktives bürgerschaftliches Engagement wäre der Bevölkerungsschutz in Deutschland undenkbar.

https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/DRK-Logo_rund_RGB-ohmogciz82aoe51xo16t08w9hj9gszwxfgn8okwj8w.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/LogoDFVmit-SchriftCMYK2-01-min.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/2000px-DLRG_Logo.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Arbeiter-Samariter-Bund_Deutschland_logo.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/THW.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/2000px-Johanniter-Unfall-Hilfe_logo.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/2000px-Malteser_Logo.svg.png
https://mit-dir-fuer-uns-alle.de/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/DRK-Logo_rund_RGB-ohmogciz82aoe51xo16t08w9hj9gszwxfgn8okwj8w-1.png

Mitmachen

Welches Ehrenamt passt zu mir? Finden Sie es heraus, indem Sie 18 Fragen zu Ihren individuellen Vorlieben und Stärken beantworten. Egal ob Sie auf den Hund gekommen sind oder Drohnenpilotin werden wollen: Hier erfahren Sie, welche Hilfsorganisation des Bevölkerungsschutzes zu Ihren Interessen am besten passt.





Naturschutz, Gesundheit, Rettung & Katastrophenschutz? Hier können Sie sich einen Überblick verschaffen, welche Themenfelder für Ihr persönliches Engagement in Frage kommen. Wählen Sie aus 22 verschiedenen Themen in allen Orten Deutschlands und entdecken Sie, wie bunt die Landschaft des Engagements in Deutschland ist.



Besuchen Sie uns, um mehr über das Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe zu erfahren: